About Neurotrauma and Critical Care

To provide a forum for education and research on trauma and critical care of the nervous system, to coordinate activities and programs relating to trauma, critical care and sports medicine for the parent organizations and other societies, committees and agencies, to represent the parent organizations, at their discretion, at any organization or group on matters relating to trauma, critical care and sports medicine, to advice the parent organizations of activities which relate to nervous system trauma and critical care by other individuals, group and/or agencies. 

Donald Becker, MD, Howard Eisenberg, MD, Tom Gennarelli, MD, Alan Hudson, MD, John Jane, MD, Tom Langfitt, MD, Larry Marshall, MD, J. Douglas Miller, MD, Larry Pitts, MD, Tom Sual, MD, Sidney Tolchin, MD, Frank Wagner, MD, Michael Walker, MD, and Harold Wilkinson, MD.
Current Officers 
Chairperson Dr. Julian Bailes
Chairperson-Elect Dr. David Okonkwo 
Secretary/Treasurer Dr. Patti Raksin 
Past Chairperson Dr. Daniel B. Michael


  • Craig Rabb, MD (2018-20)
  • Martina Stippler, MD (2018-20)

Committee Chairs (Term:  2018-20)

  • Special Advisor: Michael Fehlings, Jamie Ulman, Joseph Maroon
  • Membership Chair: Alan Hoffer
  • Education Committee: Craig Rabb
    • Scientific Program Subcommittee (NNS): Uzma Samadani
      • Members: Daniel Lu, Jack Jallo, Jason Huang, Brian Sindelar 
    • Annual Meetings Subcommittee: Martina Stippler
    • CNS Education Division Liaisons Subcommittee (including CNSU Editorial Board): Ryan Kitagawa
      • Members: Martina Stippler (SANS), Odette Harris (SANS), Sharon Webb, Maya Babu, Chris Zacko, Patricia Raksin
  • Awards Committee: Eve Tsai
    • Officers: Sharon Webb, Martina Stippler
  • Publication/Website/Social Media Committee: Martina Stippler, Laura Ngwenya
  • Guidelines Committee: Adair Prall
    • Members:  Odette Harris, Steve Casha, Paul Arnold, Shirley Stiver, Greg Hawryluk, Jack Jallo, Martina Stippler, Chris Zacko
  • Spinal Injury Committee: Steve Casha, Bizhan Aarabi
  • Rapid Response Committee: Stacy Quintero-Wolf (Liaison to Joint Washington Committee)
    • Members: Adair Prall, Paul Arnold, Ben Rodgers, Clemens Schirmer
  • International: Andres Rubiano (Colombia)
  • Sports Injury Committee: Tanvir Choudhri (Chair), Anthony Petraglia, Hamad Farhat
  • Military/Rural Neurosurgery Committee: Rocco Armonda, Brian Sindelar
  • Nominating Committee: Dan Michael
  • Brain Trauma Foundation Committee: Gregory Hawryluk
  • Neurocritical Care Committee: Alan Hoffer, Gary Schwartzbauer
  • Fundraising Committee: Paul Arnold 

Liaisons (Term:  2018-20)

  • CNS EC: Julian Bailes
  • AANS BOD: Julian Bailes
  • Joint WC: Stacy Quintero-Wolf
    • QIW: Stacy Quintero-Wolf, Ben Rodgers, Chris Zacko
  • ACS/COT: Jamie Ullman (Chair, COT Neurosurgery Subspecialty Group)
  • National Neurotrauma Society: Uzma Samadami
  • Spine Section: Paul Arnold
  • Neurocritical Care Society: Chris Zacko
  • YNS Committee: David Edward Connor
  • CV Section: Shakeel Chowdhry
  • Physician Extenders: Twyila Lay, NP; Marianne Langlios, PA
  • SNS: James Ecklund
  • CSNS: Adair Prall
  • ThinkFirst: Rocco Armonda
  • WFNS: Dominic Esposito